Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> MMA, Muay Thai, Kickboxing, Boxing, and Competitive Fighting
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

ramblinman
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Shotokan-American Style

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2016 11:21 am    Post subject: Advice for sparring a person who wants you to chase them Reply with quote

First time poster here hoping to get some advice.

I'm an experienced martial artist, practicing karate for 25+ years. When I am focused on sparring, I would say more "point" type sparring like for AAU and open tournaments (and thus for practice in my dojo each week).

The type of opponent I've always had the most trouble with is the person who wants you to chase them constantly. I have a few people I go up against who seem to have one trick up their sleeve....they bounce around and away simply waiting for the time to throw a single rear hand punch.

I have a lot of moves and fakes and such up my sleeve and certainly I use a rear hand, but it seems like a lot of the point fighters just bounce around waiting to throw a rear punch.

So one person in particular is very good at just constantly bouncing around. He rarely attacks, is just moving. I've tried to just stand and look at him and make him come to me and he just bounces around. It's almost funny to watch at that point. I've tried throwing hook kicks and round kicks going in the direction he's trying to circle, which helps a bit. I have won 2 of 2 matches against him (one person I'm thinking of in particular) but I don't feel confident in my approach.

Any techniques people use when fighting an opponent like this?

Thank you.

Tempest
Green Belt
Green Belt

Styles: Judo, HEMA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2016 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote