Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Instructors and School Owners
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Luther unleashed
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Styles: A few!

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 10:08 am    Post subject: Balance = Success Reply with quote

I have only been in business on my own for a little over a year but I think I have a good perception on things and I'd like to share my thoughts and get you guys opinions/feelings on the matter.

To me, there are two sides to running a martial arts school, the first is business and the second is teaching good martial arts. As a martial artist and teacher, I want to make the best program I can imagine so I would have to have a very high standard on rank and expectation for my students. As a business owner I want to keep the students coming in and concern myself very much with how happy my students are and what makes sense financially. This is were balance comes into play. If you want to be successful, in my opinion, you have to create a more realistic approach than many martial artists may have in mind as a standard and how the program is run. Sometimes I feel like I am trying to meet the average person with my program in the middle, and not the serious martial artist. Most people just do not have the raw physical ability or athleticism to show me what I would like to see to e most people just do not have the raw physical ability or athleticism to show me what I would like to see to earn rank. As my signature says, hustling hard work are a substitute for talent. The thing that I do not see is a tremendous work ethic from students, especially the ones who need more work.