Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

darkhoogan
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:15 pm    Post subject: Changing Karate Styles Reply with quote

Hello

I have been learning shotokan karate since 2002 and managed to acheive a black belt (1st dan) 2 years ago. However I am now off to university where the only karate style taught is wado ryu. Can someone help me understand the differences between shotokan and wado ryu? I understand it is "softer" but don't really get how much of the basic moves are different.

Also what is the system for belts when changing styles, would i need to start over at white, or could I stay 1st dan? And if i did have to startover at white is it possible to skip grades/advance fast through the new style, because I am only at university 4 years and it took me 7 years to get a black belt in shotokan.

Thanks in advance for any replies

Wastelander
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shorin-Ryu, Shuri-Ryu, Judo, KishimotoDi

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 5:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Changing Karate Styles Reply with quote

darkhoogan wrote:
Hello

I have been learning shotokan karate since 2002 and managed to acheive a black belt (1st dan) 2 years ago. However I am now off to university where the only karate style taught is wado ryu. Can someone help me understand the differences between shotokan and wado ryu? I understand it is "softer" but don't really get how much of the basic moves are different.

Also what is the system for belts when changing styles, would i need to start over at white, or could I stay 1st dan? And if i did have to startover at white is it possible to skip grades/advance fast through the new style, because I am only at university 4 years and it took me 7 years to get a black belt in shotokan.

Thanks in advance for any replies