Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Enter the Spaz
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: Tae Kwon Do, Shorin Ryu, Arnis and now Wing Chun

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 11:03 am    Post subject: Cross Training Wing Chun & Judo Reply with quote

Hello all,

Not sure if this has been brought up before, I did a search and couldn't find anything.

Anyhow, I've been training in Wing Chun for 3 months now and I'm liking it a lot. I'm wondering if cross training with Judo would be a benefit or a detriment to both. I'm mainly concerned with the principles of one canceling out a principle of another, e.g. retarding advancement by creating conflict(s).

I've been in striking arts for many years and looking to add some grappling to my game. I have very little experience in WC and none in Judo. My school offers both styles but no one seems to be training both.

I've asked my Sifu and he says training in both would be fine, not that I don't trust him, I just like to hear second, third, fourth... opinions.

bushido_man96
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Taekwondo, Combat Hapkido, Aikido, GRACIE, Police Krav Maga, SPEAR

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I say go for it. Adding the grappling will help you become a little more rounded, and I really don't think it will be a detriment to either style that you practice. Since you have prior striking experience to your 3 months in WC, then I would think you should be ok.

Enter the Spaz
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Bushido man,