Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Dr. Flem
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 7:09 pm    Post subject: Differences between Gojukai Karate and Goju Ryu Karate? Reply with quote

Hi there.... As some of you know, I'm quite new to the martial arts so I'm gonna keep on asking the questions I need the answers to.

Can anybody please tell me the main differences between Gojukai Karate and Goju Ryu Karate?

Can't seem to find anything on the net so I just thought I'd ask you guys. Thanks alot.

cross
Black Belt
Black Belt

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Can anybody please tell me the main differences between Gojukai Karate and Goju Ryu Karate?

In a basic sense, Goju Ryu is the style of karate and Goju Kai is an organisation within that style.

Goju Kai was founded by Gogen "the Cat" Yamaguchi.

Dr. Flem
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahh, ok. So the fighting style has to have some subtle changes from what I can gather. I'm just not sure how it works.

I noticed that you're in Australia. Which state? I'm in Melbourne and the only Karate school I can find in my area is a Gojukai Karate Dojo which is based in Balywn North. Do you know of any good sites that will have dojo listings in Australia? I'm looking to start up with karate but I'm not sure as to which style I want to do.

jedimc
Green Belt
Green Belt

Styles: Aiki-Kai Aikido

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dr. Flem wrote:
Ahh, ok. So the fighting style has to have some subtle changes from what I can gather. I'm just not sure how it works.