Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> BJJ, Judo, Jujitsu, Aikido, and Grappling Martial Arts
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

bigpopparob2000
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Tae Kwon Do, Gracie Jiu Jitsu

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 1:02 pm    Post subject: GJJ: How much does the teacher's rank effect your growth? Reply with quote

I've been training in Jiu Jitsu for a little over two years now, and I really enjoy it despite the fact that during most rolls I'm only slightly more adept than a grappling dummy. My school's head instructor is especially impressive. He's a fourth degree black belt, and when I watch him roll with the other higher ranks, I sometimes suspect that he's a minor deity.

However, I've really wanted to work for a particular organization for a while, and I've finally gotten to a point where I could make that change. Unfortunately, doing so would require that I move two hours away. Fortunately, my current head instructor has a brown belt student with a school of his own at the location I would move to. My concern is, would changing from a fourth degree black belt to a brown belt instructor hinder my growth? Have any of you had or witnessed such an experience? What are your thoughts on this issue?

Tempest
Green Belt
Green Belt

Styles: Judo, HEMA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only fair answer to this is "It depends". Brown belt IS an instructor rank in GJJ, but a junior one to a 4th degree.

Junior instructors can have great energy and sometimes can actually push you to succeed faster than an older instructor who understands that it is a marathon, not a sprint.