Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Introduce Yourself
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Spsosicmcise
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 3:54 am    Post subject: Greetings from Okinawa Reply with quote

Hello all, well Let me just start off by say I'm a complete noob with no MA experience but I'm looking to change that. Being that I live in Oki my oldest son was wanting to get involved in traditional karate so I started doing a little research for him, so we could make some sound decisions.

I went to the base library and I found two books a little younger than myself and had him look through them and he was all about it. The two books were traditional karatedo Okinawa Goju Ryu by Morio Higaonna. I ended up reading them too and then went down the rabbit hole on YouTube looking at traditional Goju Ryu karate. That led me to look at kinds of stuff I never knew about and before you knew it I was interested too.

Lucky for me I'm in Okinawa and there are lots of Dojos around. Unlucky for me I'm in Okinawa and not all of them speak English and I don't speak Japanese nor do my sons. I'm looking forward to starting something new with my sons. I'm just a little cautious because of the language barrier, having been deployed all over I know how easy it is to screw something up by doing something so small (to you) because you don't fully understand the language and culture. Im still looking around right now for a place to start training and hopefully after the boys football is done they will join me. I hope to learn a lot on this island and on this forum.

JR 137
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Seido Juku

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to the forum.