Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

shortyafter
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Kyokushinkai, Shotokan

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 1:38 pm    Post subject: Hip position in Kyokushin kata Reply with quote

Hi there,

I currently live in Spain where I began practicing Shotokan - back home in the USA I practice Kyokushin during the summer months when I visit my family. I've been doing Shotokan regularly for about 8 months now and my instructor places a big emphasis on hip position - hanmi / shomen. Other Shotokan practicioners I have seen also seem to do the same.

It's been about a year since I've been in the Kyokushin dojo, but I will be returning next month for a bit. I don't remember the instructor saying anything about hanmi / shomen - at most the instruction was "make your stance wide enough so you can use your hip".

My thought was that, in Shotokan the differing hip positions are more exaggerated but as I watch videos of Kyokushin kata I'm not sure - it looks like they are doing something similar to hanmi / shomen.

Could anyone offer perspective on this? What are the correct hip positions in Kyokushin kata, and how, if at all, do they differ from in Shotokan? Thanks!

Wastelander
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shorin-Ryu, Shuri-Ryu, Judo, KishimotoDi

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some people choose to name everything, while others choose the more vague "like this" approach. Shotokan is notorious for having very specific names for every technique/posture and variant of a technique/posture. Kyokushin, or at least your Kyokushin sensei, may not have the same approach. In Shorin-Ryu, we use the "like this" approach a lot--meaning, "move like this," "stand like this," turn like this," etc. More instructions than names.
Judo | 2007-2010: Gokyu | Sensei: Joe Walker (RIP), Ramon Rivera (RIP), Adrian Rivera