Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Instructors and School Owners
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

RJCKarate
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Matsubayashiryu Karatedo Kobujutsu, Yamaneryu Kobudo

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 8:31 pm    Post subject: How do you create instuctors, and what are your quals? Reply with quote

Hi all,

While I'm asking this primarily as a karate Instructor, I'm interested in all MA.

We all know the MA industry, especially karate, is relatively loose when it comes to Instructor Qualifications and training. I would like to ask everyone what formal qualifications they require (other than MA experience and rank) for different level instructors? Also, is this a requirement of your country, organisation etc?

For me, my country doesn't REQUIRE anything by law. My association does require you to be a licenced dojo owner.

The closest thing to a requirement in Australia would be accreditation under our National Coaching Accreditation Scheme by the Australian Sports Commission, delivered by the Australian Karate Federation (part of the WKF), our only federal government endorsed karate coaching course. This course mainly covers off on basic coaching principles, ethics, methods etc.

I had never bothered with this course as I'd done a variety of other ones and heard mixed reviews, but I recently completed it and would actually say that it would be a good legal requirement to roll out.

As for what I require from my instructors, it's a community coaching course through our national sports commission and a working with children check. Any instructor who wants to take a class on their own also needs first aid & cpr training.