Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Instructors and School Owners
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

fireka
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Styles: isshin-ryu, hopefully soon to study boken-do

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2003 7:23 am    Post subject: instructor problem Reply with quote

hi all,

I am a student of shotokan karate and have been testing and getting belts under a private instructor who leaves across the street from me. Shes a great martial artist, and im learning a lot but now there is a problem. i think she is attracted to me and i am in love with my girlfriend and im afraid she might be complicating things latter. a friend of my mom came by and asked how long we had been dating and that she was so excited about going with me to the prom. i most certainly didnt ask out my instructor, nor did i ask her to prom. i cant guarentee she started this rumor, it may have just been encoured when i was going to in from her house by nosey neighbors. (i was in a gi! what did they think i was doing?!?!?!) i need a way to get this to stop with out confusion, without lossing my sensai, and without losing a good friend to hurt feelings. I thought about maybe trying to set her up with someone, what do you think? thanx!

Withers M.A.A.
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2003 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just talk to her. Don't be rude but make a joke and say "my mothers friend thinks I'm taking you to the prom, people must confuse a karate gi with a tuxedo" Make a joke out of it and see how she responds. That is one way to do it. Or you can just ask her how she feels about you. If you are thinking all this it is better to find out striaght fromt he source. Let us know what you do and how you make out.

G95champ
Black Belt
Black Belt