Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> KarateForums.com Announcements
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

ninjanurse
KF VIP

Styles: TKD;Shotokan;JuJitsu;Tai Ji

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 7:08 am    Post subject: KarateForums.com Turns 14 and a Half Years Old! Reply with quote

Aloha! As a martial artist, I have been blessed to have had some amazing teachers along the way who have all shared something in common (regardless of style) that has molded my character and guided the direction of my life. That commonality is the spirit of ALOHA (unconditional love) and OHANA (family) - two concepts that define relationships within the Hawaiian community and, by their very nature, have reached beyond the islands and taken root in many hearts and schools across the world.

However, all is not rosy in the martial arts "world," and we often see teachers who are only interested in money and power and spend a lot of energy closing off their students to other styles and ideas - forcing them to choose when they have no other experiences to draw upon. Hence, they remain isolated, and their martial education is limited. Their "family" remains closed off, and its members, naive and trusting, take on the same closed minded attitude of the teacher - falling deeper into the trap. With a skewed perception of reality, they are often confrontational and defensive; isolating themselves even more. I bet we all know of or have experienced a school or community (inside or outside of the martial arts) like this - yes?