Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Prototype
Green Belt
Green Belt

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 6:01 am    Post subject: Karateka who can only kick midsection? Reply with quote

Despite training for 2 years and putting all the stretching hours in, I am still only able to perform correct mawashi geris at midsection. I had a buddy of mine film me and as soon as I went for head level my leg gets bent.

I am 27 years of age, had the exact same flexibility problems with my hips when I started training age 15 and then layed off. I know the proper mechanics but my hips just aren't flexible enough beyond a very limited point.

Am a legit karateka if I can only perform techniques correctly at midsection in your opinion?

This question relates to forms only.

JR 137
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Seido Juku

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are absolutely horrible, and should leave the dojo in shame. Any good instructor would have kicked you out a long time ago, so shame on him/her too.

Now for the serious part...

Kick where you can, and strive to improve. Personally, I'm not a big fan of kicking head height anyway. I think a kick to the outside of the thigh, side of the knee or the groin would be far more effective, efficient, and less risky than kicking higher, but that's just me. Don't get me wrong, there's a time and a place for everything, but there's not nearly enough correct times to head kick as people do when sparring IMO.

No one's body does exactly what their brain tells it to do. All anyone can do is keep working at it.

Prototype
Green Belt
Green Belt

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote