Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Kung Fu, JKD, Wing Chun, Tai Chi, and Chinese Martial Arts
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Whisky147
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: Kung fu

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 12:36 pm    Post subject: Learning more about Kung Fu Reply with quote

Hey everyone,

So i have officially passed the 1 month mark since i started training at my kung fu classes (Hung Gar) and i have well and truly been bitten by the MA bug! I am loving training, the club and look forward to learning more in the future.

Being that i am still very new and getting to know the style, i feel like i have barely scratched the surface with everything Hung gar/Lao Gar/Shaolin entails e.g. The history, philosophy, training etc

So i would quite like to read up about kung fu in my own time to learn a bit of the theory behind it, can anyone recommend any good books worth checking out?

Alan Armstrong
Black Belt
Black Belt

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bagua and I-Ching. Anything related to Yin/Yang or Feng Shu.

Chinese medicine is connected to martial arts therefore anything medical is worth reading or investigating. Understanding human anatomy and movement will also be helpful.

The biggest tip I can offer is that everything contains Kung Fu. Every movement of your day can become a part of your training!!!! Thefore every movement could be conditioning; using the A B C method of ALWAYS BE CONDITIONING.

The quality of the food and drink you consume relates to Kung Fu. Efficiency on what or how you do things is Kung Fu.

Being connected with nature is Kung Fu.

Have a profound understanding of Chi and leave the skeptics to ponder in darkness. Chi is more about different types of energy and purity and efficiency.