Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Karate Guy
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Traditional Okinawan Karate

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:04 pm    Post subject: Looking for a school Reply with quote

Hi all, My name is Andy I'm brand new to the forum.

Here is a little background on my martial arts experience. I have studied in one school that taught a traditional Okinawan white crane style karate. The style consisted mainly Goju-Ryu but also had some Shorin-Ryu and Ueichi-Ryu influence as well. The instructor (a good friend of mine) really stressed the importance of kata, bunkai and the basics. Some of the kata in this system are very old. My Sensei teaches these kata as they were, or as close as he can get. He was/is old school and trained his karateka very hard. He is a very humble man and teaches his karateka to be the same. I studied with him for about 4 1/2 to 5 years and attained the rank of Ikkyu at the age of 23.

Then, life happened as it does with most of us. I moved from Illinois to Tucson, Arizona. I got married, had kids, and now a full 18+ years later, I would like to start martial arts again. I am out of shape but fairly active.

Some things I am not interested in include commercialized schools, tournaments, and 40 ranks to get to Shodan. That last one may be an exaggeration but you get my point. I'm not saying these things are bad, but they are just not for me or what I'm looking for.

I am looking for a small school much like I studied. Traditional Okinawan kata and training methods. I am having some difficulty finding it in my area, so I figured I would ask. I appreciate any help.

Arigato Gozaimasu

Andy

sensei8
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shindokan Saitou-ryu [Shuri-te/Okinawa-te based]

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to KF, Andy; glad that you're here!!