Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

neoravencroft
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Wing Chun, JKD, Uechi-Ryu, Escrima, Muay Thai

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 12:05 am    Post subject: Meshing Different Arts Reply with quote

Now I know that there is MMA out there which might lead to some discussion from that form, but with this one, I'm more talking about the other traditional styles.

I'm currently a beginner of Wing Chun and Uechi-Ryu karate. I know that both styles have different philosophies and approaches in their style.

My question is: can different traditional styles mesh well with others such as Wing Chun and Uechi-Ryu? For example, does Shorin-Ryu and Hung Gar kung fu go well together, or perhaps Tae Kwon Do and Aikido?

I know this question might be a little vague, but I was hoping to get a few opinions from you guys.

Luther unleashed
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Styles: A few!

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey great topic. Many people are still "purists" as I say but much of the world has adapted at least, some type of hybrid adaptation of styles.

I have a foundation of Tang Soo Do, however I feel that to provide a program that encompasses a broad experience of martial arts (just as the dojo I learned in) I integrate my other experiences into the program. I integrate hung gar Kung fu, Tae Kwon Do, kickboxing, jeet kune do and a few others to make a very we'll rounded and changing martial arts experience, however I maintain the base art of Tang Soo Do to keep this as the main structure of discipline, and traditional values of the program. I feel having a martial art at the roots helps to give the program a stronger identity, and not so chaotic. Sorry to rant!