Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

gpalmos
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: BJJ, Muay Thai, Submission Wrestling

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 11:53 am    Post subject: New to Karate - looking for a Dojo Los Angeles area SFV Reply with quote

Hi all, I am new to the art. I have been practicing Muay Thai since 2006, BJJ since 2008 (currently a Brown Belt), also trained boxing, MMA, and submission grappling.

I feel it is now time to get back to my roots. I started Karate when I was 7 for about a year, and I now want to embark on that journey again as an adult.

Part of my renewed interest has been a result of watching a surge of UFC fighters with Karate backgrounds getting to the highest rankings in MMA (Machida, St. Pierre, Thompson, Nelson, etc...).

I am in my 40s and do not plan on fighting professionally, but love to engage in competitive sparring.

Glad to be here and learn from other practitioners of the art.

I am also looking for recommendations for a gym that emphasizes a bit on the sparring side of the sport, in the Los Angeles area.

Thank you

Gus

ninjanurse
KF VIP

Styles: TKD;Shotokan;JuJitsu;Tai Ji

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to KF! Good luck on finding a dojo-I am sure someone on here will have a recommendation for you as we are a vast and varied community!

http://the100info.tumblr.com/
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger

twistkick kid
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Tae Kwon Do, Shaolin Kempo

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to KF!