Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Madd_Ha77
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Kenshinkan- karate-do

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 7:55 am    Post subject: New to Karate Reply with quote

Hello, my name is Chris and I'm "new"

I came across a style of karate called kenshinkan, love the style it's great for my depression and anxiety, as well as temper. However my work schedule has picked after a few classes about of month; but I also work as a trainer in a kickboxing circuit gym so they have bags and the space for training. I haven't had time to attend a class since, but I remember certain techniques (striking, footwork, kicks, my 1st kata, defense) and have been practicing. Is this the right approach for the time restrictions that I have, I work in the gym everyday.

ashworth
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Styles: Shotokan, IJR Karate, Iaido, Kobudo

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing Wrong with practising what you learn inside the dojo whenever you can, I encourage it in fact, obviously don't over do it too much at the start, and do try to get to class as much as you can, too much practise out of the dojo without guidance can pick up bad habits...

Train together, Learn together, Succeed together...

mushybees
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Wado ryu

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Correct practise is more important than the amount of practise. The next time you speak with your sensei ask him for a couple of techniques to practise and make sure you know exactly what he wants before you leave.

LLLEARNER
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote