Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Drake
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Shotokan Karate-Do, Tendo Ryu Aikido, Gracie Jiu Jitsu

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2017 1:12 am    Post subject: Practicing both karate and aikido: experiences Reply with quote

Hey everybody

For over half a year I took up aikido next to my weekly karate training (Shotokan) in which I have a 2nd Dan degree. I pick up aikido rather quickly as I do with most stuff I do. What I find challenging is that karate utilizes firm techniques, stopping, maintaining balances and anticipating the opponents reaction. In aikido the movements are more fluid, do not stop, balance works different and an opponents reaction ability is generally disregarded.

I came to question myself: is it wise or even possible to train these two arts simultaneously? Constantly it demands a great sense of consciousness which is fine but I fear the two different styles interfere as where I hoped they would complement each other.

Perhaps people with experience in this can advice

Thanks a lot!
Drake

mushybees
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Wado ryu

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2017 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I train in wado ryu which is a softer style than shotokan based on jujitsu principles. Aikido and wado have a lot of commonalities so cross training would be beneficial for me.
I've never trained in shotokan but my understanding is that it's harder with the mindset of standing one's ground in the face of an attacker. I can see where a stubbornness or rigidity can be detrimental to aikido but I would think an additional approach to your shotokan would be desirable. You know your art, you're just supplementing