Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

nick003
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:56 pm    Post subject: Returning to Karate... Reply with quote

I studied karate at a local school many years ago.

I'm 50 and wish to return. I feel it will be a great way to stay in shape and get the exercise I need to keep my blood sugar in check.

Here is the thing: I'm looking for a traditional place to study. I am not interested in in some commercial school where they have 3-5 year olds, 6-10 year olds, teens, adults...

I want TRADITION.

When I studied in the past, we went to class in our street clothes and changed when we got to the DoJo. Today, you see all these kids jumping out of their parents car, dressed for class. That isn't tradition; is it? I was always taught that you NEVER dressed unless you were in class or competing.

And what about bowing to the Master when you enter the DoJo? Don't they do that anymore???

I want a school who teaches the tradition and respect as well as the skill set.

I'm in the NYC area.

Any recommendations?

Nick

Wastelander
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shorin-Ryu, Shuri-Ryu, Judo, KishimotoDi

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First of all, welcome to the forum, Nick!

When it comes to "tradition," I'm afraid it depends on what you think of as "traditional." From what you describe, it sounds like you want traditional Japanese karate, as Okinawan traditions are much more relaxed. That would mean you will want to find styles like Shotokan, Shito-Ryu, or Goju-Kai.

That said, you will be VERY hard-pressed to find a dojo that doesn't have youth classes. Despite how you may feel about it, the only way for a dojo to make enough money to stay open, these days, is to teach children. It's also very difficult to get American children to follow Japanese traditions .