Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> General Martial Arts Discussion
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

joesteph
Black Belt
Black Belt

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 9:32 am    Post subject: Spearhand block Reply with quote

This is something new for me, one of the basic self-defense techniques that I'm practicing at my new school. I haven't seen it in any other martial art I studied or was introduced to.

A punch is incoming, say his right is coming to the left side of your face, and you shoot out a left spearhand while stepping back with your right leg. The written directions say "shoulder high," but Sempai was having my hand go just above that, so there was an angle to the block.

It's not just a defensive move. Once I've stepped back with the spearhand block, I immediately thrust out two spearhand strikes, first with my right hand, then with my left, to the attacker's throat. They go for the jugular notch or just above it. Poking at my own throat, it seems that the area just above the notch feels it more than the notch itself.

It's a fast block, and I noticed that when it's done with an opponent in mind, you can't help but "tilt" a bit with that step back, moving your face/head a tad bit more out of the way of the incoming punch.

I'm familiar with a more "precise" move, to shoot your hand straight out against the shoulder of the punching arm, kind of jamming it at the root with the palm of your hand, but this spearhand block requires less precision to execute it successfully.

Has anyone else used/seen this block, particularly as a self-defense move?

tonydee
Blue Belt
Blue Belt

Styles: 24 yrs kong soo do, 3 yrs hapkido, bits of others

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote