Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Instructors and School Owners
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Shotokannon
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: Okinawan Karate, Shotokan, Traditional Jujutsu

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:49 pm    Post subject: Starting a club at 1st dan Reply with quote

Hi Everyone,

I am a 2nd kyu, and thinking about making preparations so that I can start my own club once I reach 1st Dan, maybe in a year's time or longer.

I was wondering if I could get an insight into this from other people who may have done the same thing, I have some limited teaching experience and would like to develop that, I have heard stories that you should not begin teaching until at least 3rd dan.

What's your take on this?

sensei8
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shindokan Saitou-ryu [Shuri-te/Okinawa-te based]

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2016 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 3rd Dan isn't a requirement, but more of advice. Reason for the 3rd Dan is so that a student can be promoted to 1st Dan without having to go to the governing body or go to another instructor holding that 3rd Dan.

A 1st Dan can only promote to 2nd Kyu. That is, of course, providing what's in the charter of that governing bodies By-Laws.

I've known 1st Kyu's who have opened their own dojo's and are still running a successful dojo. How so?

Well, let's look at the 1st Dan example. You, being that 1st Dan, will have a student body, and over time, you'll have students that will approach their own testing cycle for 1st Dan, and that's good, it's suppose to happen that way. The good news is that by the time any of your students are standing before you for their 1st Dan testing cycle, you'll easily have reached that 3rd Dan.