Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Shotokannon
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: Okinawan Karate, Shotokan, Traditional Jujutsu

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2015 4:19 am    Post subject: Switching from Shotokan to Kickboxing Reply with quote

Hey Everyone,

I've been doing Shotokan now for about 10 months, and I'm thinking of switching to Kickboxing, I just wanted to get some general opinions and information about this.

1. If you get a license at a karate club, would you need another one for Kickboxing?

2.I'm very apprehensive about leaving my current club;I like the people and I've been told I'm doing very well (being put forward for the EKF Kyu-grade national championships next year) and I really don't want to let my Sensei down.

3. having said the above, I really do feel like Kickboxing will give me the experience I want with regards to more sparring based than patterns/Kata based work.

4. How would I approach my Sensei about this, if I were to go through with it?

5. Would it be wise to continue both at the same time? this way if I don't like kickboxing I can go back to Karate and if I prefer Kickboxing, I can take that up instead!

RW
Green Belt
Green Belt

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2015 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I saw your post in the other forum...

Is this Muay Thai-style kickboxing (shin kicks, kicks to the leg, clinch) or American/Dutch style kickboxing? (Basically karate kicks with boxing punches)?

guird
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: BJJ, MMA, Gongkwon Yusul

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2015 3:56 am    Post subject: Re: Switching from Shotokan to Kickboxing Reply with quote

Shotokannon wrote:
Hey Everyone,