Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> TKD, TSD, Hapkido, and Korean Martial Arts
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

FangPwnsAll7
Green Belt
Green Belt

Styles: Tang Soo Do

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 3:12 pm    Post subject: Tang Soo Do - I need to improve in sparring. Reply with quote

I have a belt test soon and part of that grading is sparring. I would hate to say this, but I am not good at sparring of any kind; point, free sparring. I only just recently purchased sparring gear because I never really have been interested in sparring

At one time I was good at sparring. When I was white belt 1 year ago, I got told by my instructor that I'M was better than half of the green belts at sparring. Now, I am testing for green belt and my sparring is really bad. I get told by higher ranks that I can't spar

Are there any tips you could give me to improve my sparring technique?

How I Spar
I mostly just do round kicks, back kicks, 360° jump round kick. I also do side kicks and a jump snap kick. I rarely punch. When I do, it is usually a backfist or just a regular punch.

Thanks![/b]

hammer
Green Belt
Green Belt

Styles: Kyokushin, TKD

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 3:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Tang Soo Do - I need to improve in sparring. Reply with quote

FangPwnsAll7 wrote:
Now, I am testing for green belt and my sparring is really bad. I get told by higher ranks that I can't spar

Are there any tips you could give me to improve my sparring technique?

How I Spar

I mostly just do round kicks, back kicks, 360° jump round kick. I also do side kicks and a jump snap kick. I rarely punch. When I do, it is usually a backfist or just a regular punch.

Thanks!

Hope higher ranks aren't just saying that you can't spar...do you get any tips or constructive critique?