Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> TKD, TSD, Hapkido, and Korean Martial Arts
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

mountaineer
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2002 6:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can someone tell me the difference between Tang-Soo-Do/Moo-Duk-Kwan and Tae-Kwon-Do. From what I have read Tang-Soo-Do is the more traditional art with less emphasis on competition and more on fighting. Also does Tang-Soo-Do stress the spiritual side of martial arts?

Thanks for the help!

[ This Message was edited by: mountaineer on 2002-03-25 07:32 ]

karatekid1975
KF VIP

Styles: Tang Soo Do/TKD/jujitsu

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2002 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hiya.

Yes, you're right. I studied TSDMDK, and my old dojang was very traditional. Allthough, they did have and attended competitions and tournies, they didn't stress the "sport" side of MA. And yes, we did (for the most part) stress the spiritual side of MA (meditation, disipline, ki, ect).

Tae Kwon Do is TSD's little brother. There are traditional TKD schools, but 8 outta 10 TKD schools put emphasis on the "sport" end of MA.

I do TKD now (in a "sport" TKD school), but I still find myself consentrating on technique, disipline, meditation, ect. But I spar alot more now lol.

tsdshep
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: tangsoodo

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote