Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Karate
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 52, 53, 54  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Tokkan
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2006 7:33 pm    Post subject: The Uselessness of Kata Reply with quote

I am new here. I have been training in Karate for over 20 years and hold 4th Dan.

In recent years I have come to the conclusion that practising Kata is ineffective.

I know this will upset traditionalists but I had to ask myself some questions:

When was the last time you saw a huge amount of Kata movements used in kumite and contest?

Conclusion? Hardly ever if at all.

The opening sequence of Heian Nidan is never performed in kumite. The opening sequences of Kanku Dai is never performed in kumite. The one legged sequence in Gankau is never performed in kumite...

If one does a thorough analysis of all the Kata one will soon see the vast majority of techniques are never used or are not able to be used.

Kata may be ok for physical exercise but as far as training for kumite its ineffective. Why practise techniques you will never use or cannot be used?

Scientific evidence shows conclusively the more reponses you know to a given stimulus (an attack) the slower your reaction time. (see A Study of Reaction and Response Time In Subject Control Training By Joe Ferrera):

A quote: