Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Health and Fitness
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

twistkick kid
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Tae Kwon Do, Shaolin Kempo

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 12:35 am    Post subject: training with hip problems... how do you do it? Reply with quote

Greetings all,

it's been a while since I've posted here, but I come to you all with questions and seeking some advice.

Martial Arts Background first.
I've been a martial artist in various styles since I was 7. I'm going to be 25 in November of this year. I trained very heavily from the time I was 7 until I was 18 in Tae Kwon Do. After I turned 18, I went away to college, and my training load lightened from 5 to 6 days a week in the dojang to 2 or 3 days a week practising on my own or with some classmates who also studied TKD. I got involved in Aikido at a local dojo for 3 semesters or so, then had to knuckle down on my studies because I was taking 300 and 400 level classes as a sophomore. After I finished college in June 2014, I took about 9 months off from formal training entirely because of various health issues (some of them requiring surgery to straighten out). In March 2015, I tried to go back to my old TKD dojang, but I felt alienated and like the programme had changed waaaaayyyy too much from what I liked, so I searched out other places to train. 2 months later, I found a USSD (Shaolin Kempo) dojo within a short walk from my house. Fast forward to today (15 months after starting with USSD) and I'm loving what I'm learning, just got my green belt, and am in their Instructor's Academy Programme.

Health Background.