Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Share Your Testing, Grading, or Promotion
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

aazaaazaaazaaaza
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Shotokan karate

PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:26 am    Post subject: What will my rank be if I join with prior experience? Reply with quote

Hi.

My stepfather ran a karate school in the 80s and early 90s. He taught me karate during my teenage years (between roughly 2002-2008) and I've practiced daily since then (including sparring at a local kickboxing gym).

He never gave me a belt or a rank of any kind. So if I were to join a Shotokan karate dojo, would I start at white belt or what? Would I be treated as a total beginner? Would I have to "prove" my martial arts training in some fashion?

EDIT

And do I have to be a member of a school to participate in any karate tournaments? I've done some local kickboxing competitions for fun (nothing serious), but I'd feel like a fraud if I dress up in a karate gi with a black belt and participate in a karate event.

Lupin1
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Isshinryu

PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It depends on the school and the instructor. Different schools, even in the same style, have different requirements for ranks and tend to do things slightly differently. Since you were never given a rank, you'll most likely start at white belt. Since you trained before, you'll probably advance faster than a typical white belt, but since it's a new school that will do things differently from what your stepfather did and it's been over twenty years since you last formally trained, you'll probably have to relearn and/or tweak a lot of things to make them the way the new school wants them.