Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

goforit1
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: BJJ, Muay Thai, Karate, Kickboxing

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 7:14 am    Post subject: Where to start training again? Reply with quote

Hello all... I'm considering Martial Arts training again. I was a Shorin-Ryu student while in college in my early 20s and loved it. Now to begin again at nearly 59, I don't think I'm up to the intensity of that style of training. Any suggestions of a Martial Arts style that could improve my flexibility, strength and endurance while minimizing the physical impact that form of Martial Arts would have on me.

Wastelander
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shorin-Ryu, Shuri-Ryu, Judo, KishimotoDi

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to the forum!

Pretty much any martial art can be tailored to your personal needs. Of course, there are some limitations, but by and large, you should be able to just go check out the martial arts schools in your area and see which one you like best.

Oh, and don't shy away from Shorin-Ryu because of the intensity you remember--it's always more intense for college kids than for older adults
Judo | 2007-2010: Gokyu | Sensei: Joe Walker (RIP), Ramon Rivera (RIP), Adrian Rivera
Illinois Practical Karate | International Neoclassical Karate Kobudo Society

JR 137
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Seido Juku

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forget styles. Look at dojos. No two teachers, even within the same system teach alike. A good teacher is a good teacher, regardless of what style they're teaching, just as a bad teacher is bad.

A teacher can also be a great teacher, but not be the right fit for you.