Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> KarateForums.com Announcements
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Patrick
KF Administrator

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 1:05 am    Post subject: 10 Years as a Staff Member for tallgeese! Reply with quote

Hey all,

December 2 marks 10 years that Alex (tallgeese) has been a member of our staff at KarateForums.com.

There are many cool things about Alex, and I'd like to talk about a few of them today.

First, let's start with his contributions to KarateForums.com. He's up to exactly 6,800 posts now and there's a lot of wisdom there. I read a lot of posts, obviously, and we have so many posts that contain insightful martial arts wisdom. But there is something about Alex's posts that, even as a non-martial artist, I enjoy reading them.

I think his posts feature a mix of elements that, as a whole, represent what makes KarateForums.com great. These are:

1. Solid knowledge.
2. An ability to communicate that knowledge in a way that isn't self-serving.
3. A friendliness that encourages a response.
4. The opening for others to respond and, as such, the opening for growth, where his posts don't read as someone trying to be end the conversation or be definitive.
5. Comprehension of the posts he's responding to.

His posts are just really outstanding.

Next, I'd like to discuss Alex's contributions as a staff member. He's a really outstanding moderator. To become one of those, you really have to want to be one. It's easy to be a bad one, to try to moderate as an individual and apply guidelines in your own way, to miss details, to be sloppy. But Alex is a really strong moderator. His law enforcement background helps, but what also helps is that he cares. And it shows. A lack of caring leads to inconsistent decisions and cutting corners. Alex doesn't do that.