Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> MMA, Muay Thai, Kickboxing, Boxing, and Competitive Fighting
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Charlie44
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:40 pm    Post subject: Aggression? Reply with quote

hi, I've been training for four years now and (hopefully) taking my black belt grading in December. Ive never taken part in competition, but i have noticed in training that when i spar, i feel reluctant to attack my opponent. Is this a major issue if i wish to compete? Is it aggression i need to work on or can i rely on my defense game? replies would be appreciated

Harkon72
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Okinawan Karate, Aikido, Ninpo.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Charlie, if you rely an technique and good form, calmly and with focus you don't need to be aggressive. Coming from a place of calm purpose is better than an angry response. You can act quicker as you are relaxed and in control. Meet each opponent like a whirlwind - strong and powerful on the outside but peaceful in the center.

Charlie44
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Harkon72 wrote:
Charlie, if you rely an technique and good form, calmly and with focus you don't need to be aggressive. Coming from a place of calm purpose is better than an angry response. You can act quicker as you are relaxed and in control. Meet each opponent like a whirlwind - strong and powerful on the outside but peaceful in the center. )
thanks for the reply , and i will be thinking of the advice next time i spar, but when i do spar

Charlie44
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote