Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

bushido_man96
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Taekwondo, Combat Hapkido, Aikido, GRACIE, Police Krav Maga, SPEAR

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 3:48 pm    Post subject: Aikido and Hapkido - A comparision Reply with quote

I have been studying Combat Hapkido for several years now, and I have also been studying Aikido for a while now too, although the college break has put me on hiatus from Aikido. I have seen some difference in the two, and wanted to share them here.

1. Energy. In Aikido, there is more focus on energy. It may be given by the attacker, in the form of a push or a pull, or the defender can give some energy to create movement for projection. In Combat Hapkido, this isn't always the case. Attacks with punches or kicks will produce some energy, but grabs are not usually accompanied by a push or a pulling motion.

2. Rolls/breakfalls. Many of the Aikido techniques end in a throw, or a "projection" of the attacker; the attacker is thrown, and rolls back to a standing position many times. However, there are some breakfalls, and there are also pins and locks taught, as well. However, I feel that Combat Hapkido does a lot more takedowns and restraints/holds, which means for the attacker, that there is less rolling, and more breakfalling, and more tapping out.

3. Striking. Combat Hapkido contains strikes, and they are usually part of every technique done. They are used as distraction techniques, as well as finishes. In Aikido, there isn't near as much striking as the defender, and striking technique is not worked on as a part of the curriculum. It is in Combat Hapkido.

tallgeese
Black Belt
Black Belt