Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Instructors and School Owners
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

OneKickWonder
Purple Belt
Purple Belt

Styles: Tang soo do

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2018 5:00 pm    Post subject: Am I a nightmare student? Reply with quote

Hi all.

A thought occurred to me.

I wonder if I am a nightmare student. I don't want to be and I try not to be. But I analyse everything. Absolutely everything. I have my own ideas about when I'm ready to grade, in that I get put forward but refuse to grade unless I personally think I'm at the required standard.

For example. Classic training tool. One person offers predesignated attack, the other offers predesignated counter. Everyone is happy. Except me. I want to know what if the attack comes from a different angle? What if I fail to get the technique on? What if it goes on OK but the 'attacker' manages to fire off another strike? A million other what ifs.

I also don't accept the standard explanations of various techniques. I know that 'blocks' are not blocks. Or some are, but not the way we're taught. So I want to know how they are supposed to work, how come so many people can believe that in the time from seeing a punch setting off, you can extend one arm, twist the body, strike across with the other arm etc. In forms, the standard explanations just don't work. They're often either anatomically impossible, or so convoluted that they could never work under pressure. But I know they represent stuff that does work. Sometimes I find it. Some stuff still puzzles me.

Worst of all, sometimes I feel that while my current school can still teach me a great deal, I'm not convinced that my instructors could answer my million questions. That's fine. I don't expect anyone to know everything. But I suddenly wonder if I'm a nightmare for even questioning everything.