Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Ragnar808
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Toshindo Karate

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 9:40 pm    Post subject: Before the action starts? Reply with quote

Hi, I'm new here and I'm new to karate and a white belt.

I haven't gotten to ask my Shihan about his this yet, but....I'm wondering what people think is the best way to respond to a "basic confrontation".

I know the variables can be 100 fold, but let's just say you're somewhere, there's no one to really help you out and someone bumps you, starts taunting you, threatening you or whatever.

What's a good way to put yourself in position to defend? Stand back 10 feet? Hands up in a non threatening way? Being nice?

I'm just wondering because now that I'm doing karate, I'm often wondering what would I do "right now" if someone messed with me. Should I just run? Act as if I know nothing before I defend? Posture (depending on if I think that'll make someone think twice?)

Thanks for your opinions!

WireFrame
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Shotokan

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are lots of articles and opinions on the internet to do with self defence if you want to do more research, but here is my view and what I've been taught.

Always avoid physical confrontation if possible. If the taunter can be ignored or talked down, do so. Defuse the situation without fighting, and everyone wins.