Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> General Martial Arts Discussion
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

XtremeTrainer
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 6:14 pm    Post subject: Being a Purist in One Style is Too Limiting Reply with quote

I am against being a purist in any one style because I find it too limiting. No style is perfect and by taking on another style you can fill in gaps and compensate for weaknesses in your first style. For instance Im primarily a Karate stylist, I like to fight on my feet and use strikes, but I've also taken up BJJ because grappling and ground work are areas that Karate is, from my experience, severely lacking in, and those are areas that BJJ emphasizes and specializes in. So that way, by training in BJJ if Im up against a grappler I will know how to defend against them.

As for the Gracie's success in the martial arts, an instructor once said its not because of their style but because the Gracies work hard. I believe that. The Gracie style is not in any way superior to any other style the Gracies just work really hard. Had the Gracies specialized in some other style, for instance had the Gracies specialized in Karate they probably would've been just as successful.

TJ-Jitsu
Blue Belt
Blue Belt

Styles: Gracie Jiu Jitsu, Muay Thai

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

XtremeTrainer wrote: