Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Introduce Yourself
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Tepul
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Shotokan, Taido, Kamasutra

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 11:06 pm    Post subject: Bogu karata (Shotokan) Reply with quote

Oss!

I have been lurking around this forum for almost 2 years now. So it gets about time for me to register, right?

Just wanna boast that I am finally going to train karate again! I am so excited about it! And the best thing? My daughter (6 years) is going to join as well!

Some background for those interested:

I originally started Shotokan (JKA) in Holland, got my 2nd Degree there.
Moved to Germany then where I got my 3rd Degree. But the dojo and German karate weren't very interesting, so I kinda of lost my interest in karate. (add full time job and kids into the mix)

Now I'm living in Japan and there is a karate dojo near my house! The sensei there is not 100% shotokan, but general Bogu Karate practitioner. But the trainers are both 100% JKA shotokan (4th Degree for Kumite and 6th Degree for Kata). So there will be no need to adapt me for!

Only thing changing is bogu (so full contact point system with protective gear). But this might even be better, since you will learn a better feedback in your body when actually hitting/getting hit. Looking forward to using kizami mae geri as a counter without fear of kicking somebody's teeth out.

Anybody got some experience switching from semi-contact to full contact gear karate? I would love to hear your opinions.

Best regards,

Tepul

Fat Cobra
Green Belt
Green Belt

Styles: Ryukyu Kempo

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tepul, welcome to the forum and good luck in your new Karate journey. Training in Japan has got to be an awesome experience.

Karate no michi!

Nevinyrral
Blue Belt
Blue Belt