Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Equipment and Gear
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Karate-Kid
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm thinking about getting the Wavemaster. anyone had experience with these? i'm just starting out in karate so i dont think i'll have to worry about breaking the thing. Is this a good piece of equipment to get started with? Does the base get in the way? Is it ok to punch it with bare hands?

Blade13
Purple Belt
Purple Belt

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Id say its a good buy if you like it. I would recommend filling it with sand instead of water though, just in case a crack forms in it. Unless your hands are already slightly toughened, I wouldn't recommend hitting it bare handed for a while. Small bag gloves are enough though. The base can get in the way sometimes. Personally, I prefer a regular heavy bag so it can swing around when I kick it and I can practice kicking a moving target. It all depends on your taste though, and if you have somewhere to hang a regular heavy bag. If you have nowhere to hang it, then the wavemaster is definately for you.

SaiFightsMS
KF VIP

Styles: Shotokan, Shorin Ryu, Shi-to Ryu

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have one sitting here in my living room and personally I like it. There is no convenient way for many of us apartment dwellers to hang a heavy bag from the ceiling. It really isn;t hard to move around. And if I want my place to look a bit more like someone of my age actually does live here it nicely slides into a corner and makes a great coat rack.