Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Stabinoff
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 6:57 am    Post subject: Complete beginner looking for a direction Reply with quote

Hey everyone. This is my first post here, but I have been lurking for a while, and I have found that so many of you are very helpful and knowledgeable.

Back in April of 2010, I started on a journey to take back my body. I was obese, inactive, and experiencing weird illnesses caused by the things I ate. At this point, I have lost 60 pounds and am feeling great. I have mostly been focused on strength training, as I have never been fond of aerobic exercise. I find typical aerobic exercise to be extremely dull and repetitive. Who really likes tread mills and exercise bikes? Living where I do, outdoor running and biking is only an option half the year.

Anyway, I have been at a weight plateau for 4 months now, and feel that exploring martial arts may be exactly what I need. Unfortunately, I have no idea where to start. I recognize that the journey into martial arts is a long one, with no quick results. I am under no illusion that I will shine after little effort. The physical transformation method I chose was strengthening, which also has really slow results. I am very familiar with this.

Anyway, I though I'd lay out what I'm looking for, and maybe you all could point me in the right direction. First, a brief bio.