Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> General Martial Arts Discussion
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Tzu-Logic
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Inayan Eskrima and Shaolin Kempo

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:13 pm    Post subject: Confidence in your art Reply with quote

Hello fellow seekers,

I am going to be advancing to green belt very soon...

When I was a white-belt I tried to imagine what I would feel like when i reached the level of green belt.

(FYI: At my school green belt is an advanced students belt)

I go to a very strongly self defense oriented school. I have not been in a fight since i started training (actually I have never really been in a fight)

How do I know if I could protect myself in a real life situation? Do I ask my teacher to push me harder? Do i ask black belts to hit me hard when they practice with me?

I need to develop more confidence in myself and the combat art I am learning.

any suggestions my friends?

"Under the sky, under the heavens, there is but one family." -Bruce Lee

Kuma
Black Belt
Black Belt

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Friendly sparring.

ShoriKid
Pre-Black Belt
Pre-Black Belt

Styles: Matsubyashi-Ryu, Okinawan Kempo, wrestling, bits of BJJ

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If a green belt is an "advanced student's" belt, you should be able to feel a difference in your training from here on out. I assuming that as a self defense focused school you do a lot of partner work? If so, it should show up soon.

I'll second Kuma's post with this, not just friendly, but honest sparring. Which, I would hope, is always friendly.

wolverine uskf
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: kick boxing and submission wrestling

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote