Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

nayku
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2013 1:30 am    Post subject: Curious where to start as an overweight person Reply with quote

Greetings Karateforums community.

As you can see I am a newbie here on the forums and after looking all over the internet for an active forum, I believe I have found my "home".

But I digress.

I am looking for a martial arts suited best for me, and I know there are others out there looking for an answer or at least some guidance as well.
When I say 'suited' I mean the best MA for someone overweight. Now I don't want this to be some huge arguement on who's opinion, is the correct opinion, I just want the facts and the reason behind your suggestions.
With this being said, I hope to get an unbiased opinion from whoever responds, and I greatly appreciate your efforts.

I am not interested in heavy grappeling MA what-so-ever. I think the furthest I would go would have to be Krav Maga, but even then, it's a little much.
I'm interested in heavy striking like Wing Chun, Western Boxing and so on.
The problem I am having is trying to figure out what MA or two MA's I could combined that have both striking with legs and arms. Another problem with me being overweight ( 6'2", 350lb+ ) is that it may have to be light on the joints starting out. I am top heavy as well. My legs are not short and my waist is not massive. I am just very top heavy, with thick thighs.