Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

brennan the rabbit
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: wing chun goju ryu

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 9:36 am    Post subject: decision wing chun or karate Reply with quote

i have been practicing wing chun for over 3 years but before i trained goju ryu karate i went back to my karate school and forgot how much i missed training there so i wanted to train karate too i told both of my teachers my plans my sensai is ok with it as long as i have time for both commients, which i do but my sifu is against it telling me i got to decide which one is more important and crosstraining is bad he said i would be good but not great but the whole time i was in wing chun i trained my karate still im sort of leaning towards going back to karate school

JR 137
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Seido Juku

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's your training, not your sifu's, sensei's, nor anyone else's. You have to do what makes YOU happy. You're a paying customer, not a subordinate. That being said, I'll play devil's advocate for a bit...

If you split your time between two different systems, you most likely won't get as good at either of them as you would if you spent the total time training in one of them. Cross-training is a great thing, but there's a time and place, just like everything else. If you've been at one for quite some time and have a solid understanding of a bit more than the basics, cross-training is great. It could fill gaps in your primary art, give you a different perspective on things in your own art, break up the monotony, and so on. But if you don't have a solid base in either art yet, it could easily stall your progress.