Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

RW
Green Belt
Green Belt

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 10:25 pm    Post subject: Difficulty kicking the muay thai way coming from karate Reply with quote

I have been practicing karate in one way or the other for 10 years. The one thing that instructors and other students always complimented was... my kicks.

I am transitioning to Muay Thai and turns out my kicks don't transition to Muay Thai (e.g. the teep is actually much different from the mae geri/front kick, and the muay thai roundhouse looks the same as the karate mawashi geri/round house but it's completely different!), which is ok, but... it seems I am terrible at kicking the muay thai way?

I am not making much progress, and my instructor is great and patient but I almost feel like I am wasting his (and my) time?

Has anyone else been in a similar situation? Help!

Alan Armstrong
Black Belt
Black Belt

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Follow through with your round house kick with full power, no pulling back, which if you miss your target, you should be swinging your body completely around in to the same position you started in.

Follow through with front kicks also, as if trying to push the opponent over more than striking, keeping in mind that it is the fall that hurts the opponent, more than the striking; also that there are two types of MT kicks to consider, long and short range.

martialartsandfitnessuk
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Frestyle Karate & Kickboxing

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Rw,