Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Share Your Testing, Grading, or Promotion
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Jacob
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: None Yet

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 1:41 pm    Post subject: Don't Want to Advance Too Fast Reply with quote

I was a tae kwan do student for a couple of years, and now I plan on starting Shotokan karate. I liked the school and teachers very much, but I got a sense that students were being asked to test for their next belt too quickly.

How do I diplomatically question the sensei at my prospective new school to make sure that they do not do the same thing? Unlike most people who are impatient to advance, I am reluctant to be promoted before I am really ready (and I am not being hard on myself here).

Spirit At Choice
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Cuong Nhu

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's perfectly natural to have that concern considering your experience. This is a common thing for people: we know what we *don't* want based on what we experienced.

I would suggest that rather than ask the sensei of a prospective dojo anything regarding expedition of ranking, why don't you just tell them one of the reasons you left your TKD studies was because of a concern over premature advancement.

That way you make your statement very clearly without puting the sensei on the spot. Likely, the sensei will ask you if you have prior martial arts experience. When you say yes, (s)he will ask about it and ask why you left/transferred.

Once you've made your point, the sensei will probably explain the procedure for advancement so that your concerns will be addressed.