Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Karate
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Pacificshore
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Chinese Kenpo/Kara-Ho Kempo

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2002 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I studied Shotokan, we never spoke of the principle of Economy of Motion when it came to punches, strikes or kicks. However, I've seen certain techniques where this is displayed, for instance any techniques thrown off the lead hand or leg.

As traditional karate instructors/students, have you discussed, wondered, or pointed out the value of this principle?

Your thoughts please??? Thanks!

G95champ
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Shotokan Karate (FSKA)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure what you are refering to.

I am thinking you mean how to make moves flow in a nice comb?

I have never heard the term but I like it.

Pacificshore
Black Belt
Black Belt

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2002 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Economy of Motion essentially refers to going from point A to point B in the quickest possible way. No retraction or re-cocking, re-chambering, what-have-you, which in turn will lead to the flow of combinations/techniques.

It can also be referred, in my opinion, as the principle of a block is a strike and a strike a block. These two techniques accomplishing the same goal.

Perhaps I should have posted in the General topics, however I was thinking about how this principle in general related to my Shotokan training days.

G95champ
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Shotokan Karate (FSKA)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2002 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote