Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

David Miller
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 12:58 am    Post subject: Extending elbow when punching Reply with quote

Hello everyone,
This question has been in my head the moment I started practicing Karate, is that when we do a straight punch in Katas like Seisan, Sanseru, and other Katas, do we have to fully and I mean fully extend our elbow or should we stop halfway through the punch, because once I decided to do one of those Sensei Morio Higaonna punch (really impactful punch) with full elbow extension..lets just say it didn't end really well. My elbow felt like it was de attaching itself for 3 seconds, but then I also tried to not fully extend my elbow, that did not work really well and the punch looked extremely awful. So yea basically should we fully extend our elbows or not? Thanks.

sensei8
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shindokan Saitou-ryu [Shuri-te/Okinawa-te based]

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Style variances will differ through methodologies and ideologies in what you're asking.

In Shindokan, we do NOT fully extend our elbows whatsoever. Just near full extension but not fully extended. Why?? We believe that any full extension will hyper-extend the elbow, therefore, injuring the elbow.

singularity6
Pre-Black Belt
Pre-Black Belt

Styles: Jidokwan Taekwondo and Hapkido, Yoshokai Aikido, ZNIR Iaido, Kendo

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sensei8 wrote:
Style variances will differ through methodologies and ideologies in what you're asking.

In Shindokan, we do NOT fully extend our elbows whatsoever. Just near full extension but not fully extended. Why?? We believe that any full extension will hyper-extend the elbow, therefore, injuring the elbow.

I think that your school's thoughts are fairly universal.