Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> General Martial Arts Discussion
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Angus
Black Belt
Black Belt

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2001 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ooooooh, an academic post from Angus. Well after all, i'm not JUST sex and brawling. Although i AM *the sexy*.

I am in my first year of university here in Australia and i am majoring in a little thing called Sociology. Now, i've been paying attention to martial artists for years and years, and it seems to me that each and everyone's fighting style is affected by the pressures of their society, even if they do not consider it so.
Take my society for example: We are very *big man who boxes* orientated and the tough guy attitude and ego is definately a way of life. We very rarely go around in cat stance doing kicks off the walls and spear hand etc. In fact, i'd bet if u put two Australian martial artists together it would look more like a common street brawl than a classy and smooth aerial display.
I have also met some wushu dudes from China whose actual style of fighting is smooth and fluid, they use the trapping techniques (although i don't really have a full graps of what these are myself) and would use more waist than shoulder (whereas my society would use more shoulder than waist) when throwing punches and all that.
They also have a great emphasis on the small and wiry guy who moves like greased lightning whereas it doesn't matter if you're a little flabby or something in my society, as long as u can punch and punch HARD!

What do u lot reckon?
Angus

kicker
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: kickboxing, muay thai, tennis, lots more.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2001 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote