Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> TKD, TSD, Hapkido, and Korean Martial Arts
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Aodhan
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: ATA TKD, WTF, Shotokan

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 8:22 pm    Post subject: First tournament in 2+ years Reply with quote

Once I got my fourth degree, I took a year off. First class back last year I ruptured my Achilles tendon, so I had another year off for surgery and rehab. Been back in the dojangh training since early August, and had my first competition back on Saturday.

4th/5th degrees, men 40-49 was my ring. Consists of a friend I've trained with for years, another 4th degree, myself and my instructor (5th about to test for 6th).

Ended up beating my friend 5-4 in the first round, and lost 5-2 to my instructor in the final round. However, I did get a VERY nice twist kick to his chin (Twisted his helmet around! ) for my only two points.

Ganked up my bo staff form somewhat, ended up 3rd in that, 2nd in the forms competition (Again to my instructor), and 3rd in Combat bangh mangh ee (Basically stick sparring with padded sticks) in my first time ever competing at it. (Lost to my instructor, I'm sensing a theme here!)

Felt great to be back in the ring again! Next up on the agenda is a sword form for our creative division for the November tournament.

John

-Douglas Everett, American hockey player

KyungYet
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: 100% powered by Tang Soo Do for nearly 30 years.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A) You did great, especially after a break and recuperation! And considering all the different events you spread yourself out over. Congratulations!