Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> General Martial Arts Discussion
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

USCMAAI
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Combat Karate, Kenpo,Jujitsu, and Boxing

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 6:18 pm    Post subject: Formulation Of Self-defense Techniques Reply with quote

The developement of realistic/combat effective self-defense techniques is one of the most important aspects of creating a new system or keeping an exsisting system modern. This process is not overly difficult, but does take some thought and planning. There is a definite procedure to developing these techniques. Because I am a student of Grandmaster Kemp, and believe in his philosophy, which was teaching students the procedure to develope self-defense, as well as techniques. This means that "Doc"(GM Kemp) taught his students the 5 essential elements of defense along with the sound techniques and tactics, based on the physical and psychological aspects of combat. I will discuss those 5 elements that I feel should be considered when developing self-defense techniques.

Environmental Factors: One of the first things that should be taught to a student is to pay attention to their environment. Most assaults can be avoided before they even begin, if you just know what to look for. Besides from that, knowing your environment can have a great influence on what techniques are safe to try. I am a grappler by nature, and I remember the first time my sensei took me out to the alley behind our dojo for a grappling session (I was wearing a T-shirt). It was an eye opening experience, that I now share with my students. Trying to kick on ice, sand, or mud can be difficult; and many students are unprepared for this. What I am trying to say is that incorperating terrain training into your self-defense is very important.