Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> BJJ, Judo, Jujitsu, Aikido, and Grappling Martial Arts
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

K4j4 S1n1s
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2002 5:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello forum

I have a problem in my BJJ class. I am not that experienced yet and keep getting caught in the same move. When I get put in the guard I can do ok and sometimes pass the guard but some people grab inside my lapel with a cross grip. For example they grab inside my right lapel with their right hand. when this happens I always end up getting choked by them getting the other hand on the other lapel. What can I do to stop this from happening. I have tried what I have been told to do which is keep their hands in control by grabbing their biceps but then I can't pass the guard. I would be very greatful for any advice on this.

K4J4

Punchdrunk
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2002 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A few things you may have already heard -

Make sure you sit back in your base to avoid offering the choke.

Put your chin down - it stops knockouts and blocks chokes.

When the first hand sinks in lets say it's their right - overhook it with your left , wrapping your arm around and pressure on the area just before their elbow with the the bone in your forearm from below while trapping their hand in your armpit. You will rarely get a finisher off this but it keeps them honest.

Shonie Carter's choke escape guidelines -
-clear the airway (Lower the chin, spread the gi , turn into the choke etc.)
-come to center( find where you've been pulled off balance and correct it)
-follow the path of least resistance(if you poke around there is usually a little gap to work on somewhwere no matter how small)