Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2020 2:14 pm    Post subject: Getting into karate as a fair popping/liquid/robot dancer Reply with quote

So I recently became interested in karate and have been practicing several beginner moves I found on Youtube (this video specifically, along with others by the same author: https://youtu.be/T4Y9iVCEthU).

I have several questions, as I don't want to learn improper form.

Excluding a dojo/teacher (which I plan to invest in), how far can you get at self-taught karate with no teacher present, using books/Youtube/mirrors, etc?

I have 5 years of hip-hop (robot, poppjng, liquid) experience as a hobby I adore. When I do my basic hits/blocks, how tense am I suppsed to be? Should I go from completely relaxed to full on tensed (as I find myself incorporating several elements/mechanics of popping in my karate technique, whether or not this is a good thing)

And third, when I practice karate, can I do so to music?

I realize to most that it might sound that I am attempting to "dance" karate, but I'm just trying to see the difference beteeen popping and karate. As popping is all I know, I automatically use several elements in my basic (basic basic) karate blocks/strikes, and I would like to know if, by doing so, I'm completely "botching" the idea/form of karate in the process. Any help, recommendation on how relaxed/tense I should be, or answers to my questions by you awesome people would be really helpful.

Thank you!!

sensei8
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shindokan Saitou-ryu [Shuri-te/Okinawa-te based]

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2020 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Excluding a dojo/teacher (which I plan to invest in), how far can you get at self-taught karate with no teacher present, using books/Youtube/mirrors, etc?