Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> BJJ, Judo, Jujitsu, Aikido, and Grappling Martial Arts
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

conrad665
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Shotokan Karate, Ashihara Karate, Judo, Iaido

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:39 pm    Post subject: Giving up karate and taking up judo Reply with quote

Hi,

I am sorry for the long post, but I feel much better now, sharing my feelings with people who can understand me and guide me through my decision.

I have been practicing Shotokan karate for the past 9 years. I started it at 18 and now I'm 27. Since the day I started, karate has always been a passion for me.

However, in the last two years, my feelings about my karate club started to change. The club got more and more competition oriented, which is not a very bad thing for many, but just a source of frustration for the likes of me (who compete occasionally and not for medals). Instructors started to teach kids how to impress referees to get more points before correcting their techniques. And I started to find modern kumite more useless as I trained, and feel that it is more of a burden on my body trying to keep up with kids of age at most 16. And I started to think "What is the use of being fast or getting all flags up if your technique is not useful at all?" Last but not least, the club is swarming with little kids! There is not enough room for performing techniques without interruption and people bump into each other.

Not being a competitor, the instructors do not care about me much, either. They haven't corrected my technique for such a long time-maybe for two years.